Japan to tighten quarantine for African arrivals

NHK -- Nov 27
Japan will tighten quarantine measures for people arriving from six African countries, after a new variant of the coronavirus was detected in South Africa.

Chief Cabinet Secretary Matsuno Hirokazu on Friday announced measures for people from South Africa, Eswatini, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Botswana and Lesotho.

Matsuno said that starting Saturday, people from those countries will be required to stay at government-designated accommodation facilities for 10 days after entry into Japan.

He told reporters that a new variant is believed to be spreading mainly in South Africa, and there are reports that the variant is more infectious and existing vaccines may be less effective against it.

He said the government decided to designate the variant as one that requires special responses.

He also said the key to crisis management is to assume the worst-case scenario, adding that the government will proactively respond if the variant spreads.