The Five Chivalrous Thieves EXPLAINED・Shiranami Gonin Otoko (1862)

Kabuki In-Depth -- Mar 24
In our first in-depth look into a sewamono play by Kawatake Mokuami, we cover the play Shiranami Gonin Otoko ("The Five Chivalrous Thieves"), also known by the formal title Aoto Zōshi Hana no Nishikie, or by the more common ones Benten Musume Meo no Shiranami or, simply, Benten Kozō.
We cover here the most often seen acts, III through V, including the famous Hamamatsuya and Inasegawa Seizoroi scenes. I hope to cover, at the very least, the acting traditions for the role of Benten in the future, mainly developed by Kikugorō V, Kikugorō VI and Uzaemon XV.