Japan bans entry from all countries to block new strain's spread
Nikkei -- Dec 27
Japan will ban entry from all countries to prevent the spread of the more contagious U.K. strain of the coronavirus, the government announced Saturday.

The ban takes effect Monday and continues through the end of January. Japanese nationals and foreigners living in Japan will be permitted to return to the country. A 14-day quarantine request will apply to all without exception.

Japan currently bans entry from 152 nations, but since October, it has allowed in foreign students or business professionals planning long-term stays. Now the issuance of those visas will be suspended, but those who have already acquired visas can enter even after Monday.

New entry from the U.K. and South Africa -- two countries where the new variant is spreading -- has already been suspended.

To avoid disruptions to economic activity, bilateral business travel arrangements with 11 countries including China and South Korea will be maintained. Since many foreigners are entering Japan through this arrangement, the latest travel ban may have little impact on limiting foreign arrivals.

As of Friday, five people who traveled from Britain were confirmed to be infected with the new strain, according to the government.

Those arriving from countries where the new variant has been detected will be required to present proof of negative tests taken within 72 hours of departure. They also must take PCR tests upon arrival.

新型コロナウイルスの変異種の感染が拡大していることを受け、政府は28日以降、全世界からの「新規の入国」を停止することを決めました。 政府は今年10月から、中長期の在留資格を持つ外国人の「新規の入国」を原則、認めていましたが、変異種の感染が確認されたイギリスと南アフリカを対象から外しています。 その後、変異種の感染が各国で広がっていることから、政府は今月28日から来月末まで、新規の入国停止の対象を全世界の国と地域に広げることを決めました。  今月30日以降は、現地当局が変異種の確認を発表した国と地域から帰国する日本人にも、出国前の72時間以内に受けた検査結果の提出を求め、入国時にも検査を実施するということです。
News sources: Nikkei, TBS NEWS
Jan 26
The major Japanese carrier All Nippon Airways says it will suspend services on 16 international routes from late March, as demand falls amid the COVID-19 pandemic. (NHK)
Jan 26
The season's first ice floes have reached the Okhotsk Sea coast of Japan's northernmost prefecture of Hokkaido. (NHK)
Jan 26
Take a trip back in time and trace the paths of past travelers in the post towns and sacred spaces found in the majestic mountains of the Japanese countryside. (NHK)
Jan 25
Airlines that were hoping to turn the corner this year after a rough 2020 may be in for a rude awakening. Major Japanese carrier All Nippon Airways is planning to slash international flights during the summer by 50 percent. (NHK)
Jan 25
At least 15,058 people were on waiting lists for a hospital or a designated accommodations after testing positive for the novel coronavirus earlier this month in the 11 prefectures covered by a state of emergency, a Kyodo News survey found, as public health centers have been swamped with a surge in cases cases. (Japan Times)
Jan 25
The snow this winter on Japan’s ski runs and the powder on the off-piste is probably the best it has been in a decade. (South China Morning Post)
Jan 25
If you plan to fly into Tokyo, Haneda Airport is where you want to land. Sure, rival Narita Airport sometime gets called “Tokyo International Airport,” but it’s actually all the way out in Chiba Prefecture, while Haneda is the one truly located within Tokyo. (Japan Today)
Jan 24
Weather officials are warning of more snow in the areas surrounding Tokyo, mainly in mountainous regions. But they say it is unlikely to accumulate in central Tokyo as the temperatures at high altitude did not dip as much as expected. (NHK)
Jan 21
Traveling the waterways of Tokyo, Japan. (CNN)
Jan 21
Kyushu is said to be the wellspring of Japanese civilization. Yet few tourists visit the southernmost of Japan's main islands. This documentary contrasts modern Japanese cities with traditional customs in the countryside. (DW Documentary)
Jan 21
The coronavirus is having a crushing effect on Japan's tourism industry. The number of foreign visitors in 2020 fell nearly 90 percent from the previous year. (NHK)
Jan 20
Scoop up the rich tapestry of traditional culture and natural beauty of Ojiya, a small city in Niigata Prefecture's snowy mountains that's had to scale back as it steers through a global pandemic. (NHK)
Jan 19
Train services in greater Tokyo are scheduled to end earlier at night starting from Wednesday, due to a state of emergency declared in the region over the spread of the coronavirus. (NHK)
Jan 17
Japan's health ministry plans to establish a system to effectively track foreign nationals who tested positive for coronavirus after entering the country. (NHK)
Jan 16
To celebrate the new year, we're taking to the skies to check out Tokyo with an unobstructed view! (JapanPro)
Jan 16
The Tokyo Disney Resort is one of the best Disney Resorts in the entire world which is rather ironic as... it's not Disney. (ReviewTyme)
Jan 16
Shooting in Shinjuku/新宿, Shibuya/渋谷, Asakusa/浅草, Akihabara/秋葉原, showing how the town looks like on the first weekend. (Rion Ishida)
Jan 14
The Japanese government is stepping up coronavirus countermeasures for people entering the country. (NHK)
Jan 13
The Japanese government plans to suspend the entry of all foreigners as the coronavirus continues to spread around the world. (NHK)
Jan 11
Little change was seen in the flow of commuters at major train stations in Tokyo and three neighboring prefectures Friday morning as a fresh state of emergency came into effect in the metropolitan area to stop the spread of COVID-19. (Japan Times)